Our Gay Neighbors


Well, folks, this post is bound to get me in trouble.  I seldom write about controversial topics, or if I do, I elide from one stone to another, in order to not offend.  This very well may be the first time I’ve stated, unequivocally, in a non-joking matter, that I am for or against a controversial topic. Well here it is:

I believe that lesbians, gay men, bisexuals, and transgendered individuals  should be accorded the same rights and dignity as everyone else in American society. I think they should be allowed to marry, to file joint tax returns, to visit one another in their hospital deathbeds, enjoy health benefits of a family member, to be beneficiaries of estates (upon death of a same-sex spouse), and every other right accorded the supposedly-normal population of the the USA.

I know. I can’t believe I’m saying it either. Stop reading if you will. I won’t be offended.

Two Iranians, Mahmoud Asgari and Ayaz Marhoni. They were tried for being gay, at ages 15 and 16.

Continue reading Our Gay Neighbors