Grumpy Cat Follow-Up, Nesting Habits, and Birthday Cakes


Today is Janteenth and I still haven’t given up hope on my New Years’ Resolutions. It’s MLK Jr’s birthday, I have a load of laundry sloshing around in the washing machine, and a cup of coffee sloshing around in a ceramic cup. It’s not a running day–that’s tomorrow–and all the better since it’s 19 degrees outside right now. I’m still practicing my languages. It’s not a struggle so much as it’s slow going. I hope to see that I’ve made progress despite my stumbles over German words. It is a blogging day, however, so here’s a blog, whether we all need one or not.

Work’s been good. Good good. Yeah. Good. I leave the store every night wondering if there’s something critical I’ve forgotten. I suppose that, as I gain confidence, that worry will go away.

Grumpy Cat seems to have finally swallowed his punishment and is making headway toward finishing a bunch of late assignments. We’ll see how that goes. Until his report card shows C’s, restrictions remain in place. I can be such a meanie that way. Father of Grumpy Cat. Sounds like I should secure movie rights.

Other son is being driven back and forth to Sterling on Monday, Thursday and Saturday until his student loan check comes in.

It seems weird. When I was 18 years old, I was pretty autonomous. I lived about 500 miles (800 km) from my parents my first year of college, and 6500 miles from them (10,500 km) when I was in France the year before that. Daniel lives… down the hall. Ratty tee shirts, stinky feet and everything. I kind of wish he lived in a dorm just so that the house would be cleaner. He’s a human shredder, watching the teavee, and subconsciously ripping paper into tiny pieces. I think there’s a good possibility he may be building a nest for egg-laying season.

A few months ago we propped the couch up with a closet door because the springs had sprung. Well, the door has finally given up its usefulness and it’s time to buy a new couch. We can’t really afford one, but, you know… we have to have somewhere to sit when we crochet and watch greatest hits episodes of My Little Pony.

We bought The Lady a small birthday cake last night, Salted Caramel Cake, and enjoyed some of it after I came home from work. The first words out of Elder son’s mouth this morning were “Cake for breakfast?” One-track mind, that one. Granted, the first words out of my mouth were “Did you make coffee?” so I guess all’s fair.

If you haven’t yet noticed, there’s really not much I have to say today.  My first load of laundry is ready to go in the dryer. Work begins in 3 hours, when I discover if I missed anything egregious when I closed the store last night. I close again tonight. We shall hopefully have a good close and be out of the store in good time.

Until then, bye y’all! Enjoy your Sunday and may it be considerably warmer than the one I’m having.

Leave a Reply

