All the Little Wednesday Things


I’m awake. Kitchen’s a mess. I dropped a couple ice cubes in my first cup of coffee so I could knock it back more quickly and not have to pour it all over the car.

It’s still quite cold outside. Six degrees (-15C) this morning, with a wind chill, they say, of -5. The cold doesn’t bother me too much. I have an indoor job, and it gives me something to talk about with our customers. I will forego running for another form of exercise today. I’m thinking of going with marathon eating.

I will be working in 30 minutes, which should give me all the time I need to caffeinate the masses and still squeak out a blog of utterly no consequence whatsoever.

The boys got yesterday off from school. Today, they’re on a 2 hour weather delay, which mean’s Alex’s normally-7:30AM classes will begin at 9:30. I will already be at work. I give 9:16 odds as to whether or not he’ll decide to wear his coat. You can’t really be sure about anyone who asks for a bow tie for Christmas, and who wears a fedora without going for irony in his “look”.

Judi is driving me to work; I’ll ride the bus home later. The one car situation seems to (mostly) work for us, with a few annoying hitches here or there. I consider riding the bus when it’s 6º outside one of those hitches. Still—it’s better than walking or biking home, and I might meet interesting people.

Ever have one of those days when you feel that the air is tense with change? Something feels like it’s gonna happen, and I’ll know it when I see it. Today is one of those days for me. It seems like something is gonna happen. I just hope it doesn’t involve molten lava or massive seismic events. I’ve seen my share of calamities, some of them up-close. If I’m gonna be honest, I’d rather just lie around in my underwear, eating almond roca.

Speaking of candy… I’m making a mostly-lame attempt at weight loss, or at least eating more healthily since I’m starting my exercise regime. We’ll see how it goes. I don’t think there’s a single vegetable in our house right now, except a lonely onion and some frozen peas.

That’s about all. I’m gonna fill the dishwasher and start it before I get on with the rest of my morning. So, for those of you who believe I lead a celebrity life, I guess I’ve just proven you wrong huh?

Have a marvelous Wednesday. Oh, and look out for raining anvils. I bet that’s the thing that’s gonna happen…

Leave a Reply

