A Late Winter Walk


Oh, by the ever-lovin’ electric noseplugs of Jezebel, my ears hurt right now!

sunset

I just went on a walk around the lake. The complete circuit, from my home and return, is 2 miles, thereabouts. It’s still winter. It snowed a couple inches yesterday morning, and the rains took it away. This morning it was so foggy I couldn’t see the front door of workplace from the parking lot. Then it burnt off. It was about 60ish. Beautiful.

But oh, the wind!

It's a bug.
It’s a bug.
Weirdly random statue. It always makes me hungry for eggs.
Weirdly random statue. It always makes me hungry for eggs.

I remember as a kid hating being forced to run because of the wind. My ears would ache, my side would stitch up, and I’d have to pee. I’d breathe like a guppy who leapt out of the bowl and onto the counter. Not David and James. They were natural runners, both of them. But I wasn’t them. I felt more comfortable with a good book, than a doubleshot of runner’s high.

I forgot how painful runners’ ear aches can be. I need a stocking cap 😛

That said, it is beautiful out. The wind blew waves onto the lake, and whipped stuff into  frenzy. I had to pee about halfway through the circuit. Of course. Isn’t that the always the way bladders work?

I angered a customer today out of stupidity. I think I smoothed things over. I thought about that while I walked. Then I thought about the wind, and then my bladder again. And oh, the earache! I have a sick friend who was in the hospital for testing. Maybe the earache was worth suffering. At least I don’t have to have a blood test.

I saw a goose and a bug.

goose
They lay golden eggs dontcha know.

It’s my second walk of the year. I hope to have many more, and start losing weight again. Springtime in Virginia, I gotta say, makes the rest of the year not-too-bad!

New Growth
Late Winter Flowers
5 thoughts on “A Late Winter Walk”

  1. she should start saving your beard and make a beanie out of that ! I knew a old hippie couple back in the day and his old lady made his beard into a very fine beanie 🙂

    Like

  2. Love how you say things…your opening line,…your need for eggs when you see the sculpture! You never fail to make me laugh!

    Like

  3. Bet your talented wife could whip up a stocking cap for ya! 😉 Nice photos…felt like I was on the walk right along with you…except for the cold ears. 🙂 Keep writing…and walking!

    Like

Leave a Reply

