Whitney H. and the Very Enormous St. Valentine’s Cookie


Happy Valentines’s Day, folks. I’ve never had hard feelings for this holiday. What can I say… I’m a lover; not a hater. *snork*.

Yep. Spread your Cupid wings folks, it’s Valentine’s day.  Didn’t shoot anyone with arrows, although I feel like I took one in the back. We celebrated by having Indian/Asian food at a local Indian/Asian food restaurant. We’re home now, sitting and doing the things we normally do after a large meal–Judi’s watching Glee and Daniel is in his room playing with voice recognition software. Alex and I are both using computers. I made a quick stop at the grocery store on the way home from the restaurant, and bought one of those foot-wide chocolate frosting-bedecked chocolate chip cookies. That was our Valentine’s day dessert.

I’m listening to Judi’s Glee, and the episode is their Valentine’s show–one of the cast’s songs this week was Dolly Parton’s “I Will Always Love You”, made famous by recently-deceased Whitney Houston. It brought to mind her life, and death.  I was always impressed with Whitney, both as a talent, and as woman who tried (albeit unsuccessfully) to keep her demons (and husband) at bay.

Whitney’s voice brings back the 1980s to me, and brings back to the theme of love. She’s the epitome of valentines with no less than 7 Number One singles with the word “Love” in the title.

  • You Give Good Love
  • Saving All My Love for You
  • Greatest Love of All
  • Love Will Save the Day
  • I Will Always Love You
  • My Love Is Your Love
  • Love That Man

She charted the rendition of the Star Spangled Banner not once, but twice, in different decades. Seriously–who does that but someone incredible? And she had the vocal “chops” to go with it.  Her range rivaled Aretha Franklin’s. Her voice was controlled when the time called for it, and perfect and florid  (seriously – watch a YouTube clip of her singing the national anthem at the 1991 Super Bowl). Her pitch and vocal control is immaculate.

She influenced two decades of singers, including Celine Dion and Mariah Carey, who, as far as I’m concerned, are cheap knockoffs of the “original”. It was no coincidence the Media named her the Queen of Pop.

Incidentally, the Glee episode was released with Fox studio execs’ blessings, and the very next day, Whitney Houston was found dead in the bathtub at a Beverly Hills hotel. The song was purely coincidental–and the producers had a nice dedication for her at the end of the episode.

This is one time I’m not going to post any music. You know what she sounds like. I also won’t post any pictures of her. I did a Google Image search and it’s startling how many photos of Whitney have her looking strung out, stoned, and utterly destroyed as a human being. Do yourself a favor and remember her as she was. If you don’t know her, of course, I urge each of you: you should run–not walk–to YouTube and look up the eight hits I mentioned above. You’ll be glad you did.

Happy Valentine’s Day, folks. Have a fist-sized hunk of cookie. It’s free with the price of admission.

3 thoughts on “Whitney H. and the Very Enormous St. Valentine’s Cookie”

Leave a Reply

