“La Terre est Bleue”


Judi said I should write a post because my fan might start missing me. So here it is–the bloggitus interruptus.

I’ve been working my buns to the bone, if you know what I mean, in Hebrew, which is not a euphemism. The world has been tilted on its ear, my friends.  Seal and Heidi Klum are splitting up, not that I knew who Heidi Klum was, or anything about her show Project Runway (I do now…). I had a vague notion who Seal was. But frankly, can I just say this? Of all the millions of things that happened in the world today, that was definitely ONE of them. And I’m more concerned that I can’t remember the hebrew word for “one” because there are at least four of them, while there’s only one word for the hebrew number four. Or maybe two. I’m not quite sure. See how messed up I am?

In other more worthier news, poet Paul Eluard once said “la terre est bleue, comme une orange.  Jamais une erreur les mots ne mentent pas.” He said this in 1929. “The earth is blue like an orange. Never a mistake; words don’t lie.”

In my travels across the Internet, I decided to go looking for a Hebrew copy of JRR Tolkien’s The Hobbit. I found a quite interesting article in the Jerusalem Post about this translation. There are two translations. The one critics hail as the superior of the two was assembled by Israeli fighter pilots in the early 1970s, while they were POWS in an Egyptian internment camp. The story is a fascinating one, and you need to read it here.

I got nothin’ to say. Really. I’m at a loss for words. Maybe in my ecstatic overreachings, you can think good thoughts toward me tomorrow, while I’m interviewing for that Hebrew cataloger position.

Have a great day. May it be less “meh” than mine.

One thought on ““La Terre est Bleue””

  1. Good “The Hobbit” story. What amazing men. Not like “Wah wah wah” of “Sweet Caroline” at the lunchmeat counter at the store, but close.

    Like

Leave a Reply

