Or Are You Just Happy to See Me?


‘Round and ’round the mulberry bush, the weasel chased the monkey. No, I didn’t get the song wrong. In fact, the sport I’m blogging about today includes two weasels.

It seems PETA has made a coffee mug.

Daniel told me about the age-old sport called “ferret legging.” It seems to have been invented by bored Yorkshire coal miners (which also explains a bit about their food). It seems that the males-only contestants put two live ferrets inside their pants–the winner is the one who is the last to release the animals. (stole this quote from Wikipedia, of all places…) Don’t believe me? check the Guinness Book of World Records.: 5 hours, 32 minutes.  Sheesh. And people say *I* am weird??

Ferret legging. The face on the woman in the background says it all.

Richmond, Virginia has held the national ferret legging championship every year since 2003. And they say the antebellum  south is not dead.  The sport involves very little native skill, just “an ability to have your tool bitten and not care.” To that, I say, “duh.”  I’m surprised that PETA hasn’t gone after this sport with all the energy they have dedicated to cock fighting. Ah, but I repeat myself.

Daniel told me about this sport when we were on our way home from Judi’s birthday dinner tonight. Of course, being the inquisitive librarian, I immediately ran to wikipedia, which was blacked out in protest against SOPA and PIPA (I think those are great names for ferrets, don’t you?), but still managed to find a bit of stuff.  When I discovered the National Championships are held a mere 2 1/2 hours away, I asked Daniel why we never attend. He told me “Because we are sane.” Well, there ya go.

I haven’t got much more to say about today. I managed to get a job interview for the Hebrew cataloger position at NARA. It will be on Tuesday. I’m excited and worried. I even shaved today. I’m apprehensive, but expectant. The only thing I can do, I guess, is the best I can do. That, and keep ferrets out of my pants.

3 thoughts on “Or Are You Just Happy to See Me?”

Leave a Reply

