Earthquakes, here and there


Remember on Monday, when I said this would be a good, good week? Well, I’ve been right so far!

Post-quake Tsunami, Japan, 2011.
Earthquake. China, 2010.

Despite a small earthquake interrupting the latter part of the day yesterday, we spent a lot of family time at the orthodontist, then out to dinner with the boys (I had an excellent walnut-crusted chicken, surprisingly, at a sp0rts bar). I watched my kids eat. Then we went shopping for Daniel’s birthday, and came home, where I relaxed and read. A point of fact: a couple different earthquakes have happened in my life this week. As Ted “Theodore” Logan once said in Bill & Ted’s Excellent Adventure, “Strange things are afoot at the Circle K.” (this is possibly the best line Keanu Reeves has ever delivered in a film.)

It’s not only the big things, or the strange things that capture me. It’s the little things in life. My routine comforts me. The earthquake didn’t do much other than make the news, and knock a few bricks down here and there. It was a 5.8 (or 5.9) according to my sources at US Geological Survey. they shut down a local nuclear reactor or two, to make sure nothing leaky happened, like at Fukushima plant in Japan a few months ago.

Not an earthquake. Virginia, 2011.

The quake, frankly, was a non-event. A few friends reported CDs or books falling off shelves, or a picture frame shaking loose from the wall.  Closer to the epicenter, I heard that a grocery store shelf full of beer collapsed. (THERE is a tragedy). The media wailed over it, as if this was the end of the world predicted by the Doomsday Guy earlier in the year. I have a feeling it was a slow day at the news office. The American public is bored with Gadaffi, and even though NATO-armed troops marched into his compound yesterday, it got, predictably, very little coverage yesterday.

In bigger news, a moth flew into a Major League baseball player’s ear, and MS-NBC got him on the phone to talk about this disaster. I’m not making this up.

We live in a weird, weird culture, friends, where we consume the news like so many gumballs. Remember when your grandmother used to tell you not to swallow your gum, because it would stick in your stomach and swell up until you died? Maybe I made that up; I’m definitely sure Grandma told me it would give me a tummy ache. Either way. Don’t swallow the gum, America! It’s not food! It’s not even candy! It might be fun to chew on for awhile, but it has no nutritional value whatsoever.

It gives me a tummy ache. Much like the word tummy itself, which I despise for completely-unexamined personal reasons.

Something amazing happened this week. I will blog about it later, when I’m given permission.

I don’t say God is good.  I say few “pat” phrases of the kind. I believe in the Goodness of God, mind you. I just don’t say it, because I believe in a higher Power in the Universe, call it what you will, and the primary force of that Power’s trajectory is that, despite chaos theory, and entropy, life tends toward The Good.

Why does a good God permit evil to happen? Damned if I know. (ha! It’s a play on words! Get it?) But my gut feeling is, on a microcosmic level, as well universally, the cosmos strives toward goodness and redemption, not chaos and the breaking of order. I’m old-school that way. I choose to wrap these tenets in what I’ve read and studied in the Bible, because culturally, it makes sense to me.

I believe God has something to do with goodness, as well as the bad things (that, given time, also tend toward “goodness” and redemption). That’s why I don’t say it. I feel it in my heart. I don’t *need* to say it.  Saying the words is just a vapid reminder of what I feel, to my core. That said, something Good has happened for our family.  Something amazing, and immediate, and, quite frankly, timely.

More on this at a later date, folks.  Argue at will, about my theology, and the fact that, due to my 666 friends on Facebook, I tend to cause earthquakes wherever I go. Or whatever you like. Please comment on the blog. I promise to keep writing.

Love you all.

2 thoughts on “Earthquakes, here and there”

Leave a Reply

