My Funk Top Ten


It’s not strictly funk music but I’m in a mood to hear some awesome bass lines today. And you get to hear my playlist as a consequence.

10.  “Papa Was a Rolling Stone”–The Temptations.

These guys are unbelievable. A lot of crossover between funk, soul and R&B.

9. “Kiss”–Prince.

The really amazing thing about this song is The Artist managed to create a funk song without a bass guitar at all; and the instrumentation doesn’t really lack. One of my favorite Prince songs.

8. “Super Freak”–Rick James.

I bet you were hoping you’d make it through this list without hearing it.  Catchy innit? “Can’t Touch This” can’t touch this.

7. “It’s Your Thing (Do What You Wanna Do)”–The Isley Brothers.

Wow. Just. Wow.

6. “Lady Marmalade”–LaBelle.

I couldn’t decide if I should go with this version, or the Mya, Pink, Christina Aguilera, and Li’l Kim cover from Moulin Rouge.  I like them both, but decided to go with the original.

5. “Say it Loud”, James Brown.

The man who started it all.

4. “Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin)”–Sly and the Family Stone.

Gotta love Sly Stone. This song is simply amazing.

3. “Brick House”–The Commodores.

They’re not all Lionel Ritchie ballads. This group had some great music.

2. “Play that Funky Music, White Boy”–Wild Cherry.

The only white boys to make the list. They actually deserve it.

1. “Supersition”–Stevie Wonder.

The first time I heard this song I was floored. I didn’t want the bass riff to end. Stevie had it goin’ on.

And another…

Not strictly funk (ok, not funk at all), but MAN could that Michaal kid sing… I wonder what ever happened to him…

#. “I Want You back”–The Jackson Five.

2 thoughts on “My Funk Top Ten”

Leave a Reply

