Górecki’s Symphony No. 3 (Symphony of Sorrowful Songs) (via Dover Beach)


I’ve never reblogged before, but it felt important. This symphony has its fingers all over my mood today, one of pain and reflection, and a little hope, as I received the news last night of the death of a 92-year-old friend.

Górecki’s 3rd is simply stunning. I’ve listened to it dozens of times over the years. Maybe I discovered it then because God knew I needed to hear it today.

Read the story behind the text of the Symphony (printed in the re-blogging I did of @Dover Beach). Stunning story.

Be still and enjoy.

B.

  – I was completely blown away when I first heard Górecki’s Symphony No. 3 (Symphony of Sorrowful Songs). The nine-minute second movement, Lento e largo—Tranquillissimo, contains a libretto formed from the prayer to the Virgin Mary which was inscribed by Helena Wanda Blazusiakówna on the wall of her prison cell in the basement of the Gestapo’s headquarters in Zakopane, Polan … Read More

via Dover Beach

One thought on “Górecki’s Symphony No. 3 (Symphony of Sorrowful Songs) (via Dover Beach)”

Leave a Reply

