Random thoughts.


There’s a tribe of Canadian First Nations people called the Kwakwaka’wakw.  I love that they have the guts to name themselves after the sound that Pac-Man makes.

According to the Ponemon Institute, business travelers lose more than 12,000 laptops per week in airports. Wow. Just… wow.It annoys me when the management tries to be clever. i’m doing online IT security training, and they used the remember-all “Y IT Sec? U R it!” Instead of, say, a sentence that makes sense in a grammatical fashion of some kind.  Ding dongs.

The guy in front of me in line at Starbucks tried to say something about three or four times this morning. I never figured out what it was he wanted. Maybe it had something to do with the fact (I discovered a couple hours later) that my pants were unzipped?

I just read the following sentences:  “Ask your BCISO for a copy of the IRP. Any breaches of PII must be reported to DOI CIRC immediately.” Ain’t government work grand?

There’s a guy wandering our halls at work today. He has a mullet and is wearing, hooked to his camo pants, a two-foot long raccoon tail as if it were his own. Why are the good ones always either gay, taken, or raccoons?

The 034 tags have mysteriously merged with the 007 tags in our MARC record database. This is not acceptable.

Yes, my boys begged to go to Denny’s and try the Bacon/Maple Syrup Sunday. Yes, it’s probably as good as it sounds.

I’m a coffee snob–I admit it.  Working for Starbucks did that too me. The cafeteria at work recently switched to their own idea of coffee. Their idea was wrong.

I’m still waiting for the vampire novel that doesn’t push all the mythos buttons: silver, crucifixes, holy water, stakes, blah blah blah…

I think about ontology a lot. It’s a lonely hobby. I used to think about epistemology a lot, but that’s a dead end field.

I hurt my back in April 1999 while lifting a lawnmower into the bed of a pickup.  I lay on my stomach in the living room for over 6 weeks before I was approved for surgery, doing physical therapy exercises, watching M*A*S*H reruns and, when it happened, news coverage of the Columbine shootings.

Thank God: Lady Gaga gave her approval to the new “Weird” Al parody. And we though NATO operations in Libya were a big deal.

Little known facts about weatherman Willard Scott: he has a BA in Philosophy and Religion. Before doing TV weather, he was Bozo the Clown on TV for four years, and, or three years, appeared on commercials as the original Ronald McDonald.

A chat with my thirteen year old son about the US Civil War has me a little worried: he insisted the war was fought, not over slavery, but over state rights. Yay, Virginia schools, for painting 1/4 of a picture, and letting the kids doctor the rest with their mind’s own crayons.

Before my adolescent crush on Amy Carter, there was Nadia Comaneci.

That’s enough tomfoolery for one day. Ahh, Tomfool… where would we be without you?

One thought on “Random thoughts.”

  1. Ahh…a breath of fresh air. Thanks for the tomfoolery; it was fun! 🙂 The laptop statistic IS a little difficult to fathom! The raccoon tail…that kinda bothers me. Did you recognize the guy as an employee? (The code we might use for him in my line of work is 12-56). Maybe he was just waiting for a reaction from someone? And, YAY for Weird Al and Lady Gaga! 😉 Happy Thursday (which is my Friday)! I’m a little giddy about it…can you tell?

    Like

Leave a Reply

