A Word game [poem]


A poem I wrote for Valentines Day, 2007.

B.

 

“It’s not me; it’s you,” she smiled,
And sipped her wine,
Winked, and set three
Tiles: D-I-S
To my COVER.
“Did you not see?”

It caught me by
Surprise, I had
To admit. “Your
thoughts are mine and
Beyond, I swear.”

“Is it not you
Alone, who knows
Your world? I may
help you to re-
collect your thoughts…”

“What kind of blight
credits my friends
with my success,
and I never see
past my failures?”

She then pressed a
Loving finger
To my lips, and
Held me as I
Pondered this thought.

And my embrace
Pulled her body
Deeper into
My bosom than I
Thought possible.

The hearth fire sparked
And crackled as
It gave joyous
Assent to all
Our remembrances.

I smiled. “It’s not you, but we.”

Leave a Reply

